18 May 2022

Con­grat­u­la­tions to the fol­low­ing swim­mers on their selec­tion to the Swim Eng­land North East Region – Open Water Squad:

  • William Wil­son
  • William Hick­lin
  • Matthew James
  • Char­lie Hinson
  • Kourosh Kho­dakhah
  • George Brooks
  • Mei Yuasa
  • Jes­si­ca Woods
  • Mil­lie Threlfall
  • Vale­ria Pinera-Levita
  • Hol­lie Wilson
  • Lucy All­man

The Region­al Squad forms part of the Swim Eng­land nation­al swim­ming tal­ent path­way and will pro­vide an oppor­tu­ni­ty for swim­mers to devel­op their tech­ni­cal, tac­ti­cal, phys­i­cal and lifestyle open water skills with swim­mers of a sim­i­lar age and abil­i­ty from across the North East. The camp will also pro­vide an oppor­tu­ni­ty for swim­mers to work with dif­fer­ent coach­es and to train in a dif­fer­ent envi­ron­ment. We hope that the camps will be a pos­i­tive and reward­ing expe­ri­ence, with the inten­tion of them being a step­ping-stone for you to progress to fur­ther stages of the path­way in the future.

Marathon swim­ming has been includ­ed as an event at the Olympic Games since Bei­jing 2008, where British ath­letes won 3 of the 6 medals award­ed. Ker­ri-Anne Payne (dou­ble world 10Km cham­pi­on and Euro­pean SC 400m freestyle cham­pi­on) and Cassie Pat­ten (world 10Km sil­ver medal­ist and 4th at World SC for 800m freestyle) won sil­ver and bronze respec­tive­ly in the Wom­ens 10Km, and David Davies won sil­ver in the Mens 10Km (won bronze in Athens 2004 in the 1500m). The best ath­letes in the marathon events are all great pool swim­mers first, which is why we would like to intro­duce you to the excit­ing world of open water swim­ming through our Region­al Squad.

This year’s camps will engage with ath­letes in the 1216 year old age groups where age is defined as at 31st Decem­ber 2022. Selec­tions were tak­en direct­ly from the Nation­al rank­ings for the 12 month peri­od up to and includ­ing 31st March 2022. The top 3 male and female per­for­mances were iden­ti­fied from each sin­gle age group in the 1500m and 800m Freestyle respectively.